Heathrow consultation kicks off … but closest communities will be excluded

Longford, Harmondsworth, Sipson, Colnbrook and Poyle – the locations that will be most affected by a Third Runway – are all MISSING from a list of 20 locations the Government has chosen to host its “information events” on Heathrow expansion. 

colnbrook.jpg

Colnbrook residents will need to travel to The Curve in the centre of Slough, West Drayton, or Stanwell Moor, if they want to find more about the NPS.

Last week the Government announced it will be seeking the views of local communities on its draft National Policy Statement on Heathrow expansion.  But the long list of locations where it will host its “information events” all exclude any of those areas that will be directly impacted by a Third Runway, should it happen.

The Government says it believes that the need for additional aviation capacity in the south-east of England is best met by a new north-west runway at Heathrow, but has set out stringent conditions to be met as part of its new aviation policy that many doubt the airport will ever be able to meet.

A 16-week consultation on the draft NPS was kicked off with the announcement last Thursday (2nd February).  It will run in parallel with another consultation that will consider changes to flight paths, and another on new night flight restrictions.

consultation-events.png

The closest communities to Heathrow will not have their own consultation event on the Government’s draft Airports National Policy Statement.

The events which, surprisingly, will include Heathrow Airport representatives, will provide an opportunity to speak to officials about the draft National Policy Statement.

Weekday events are open from 11:00 to 20:00. Saturday events are open 10:00 to 17:00. More inforation is available on the Government’s National Policy Statement web site.

The dates and locations of the events are listed below:

Date

Location

Address

Monday 13 February 2017

Southall

St George’s Community Centre, 8-12 Lancaster Road, Southall UB1 1NW

Tuesday 14 February 2017

Uxbridge

Uxbridge Community Centre, 32b, The Greenway, Uxbridge UB8 2PJ

Wednesday 15 February 2017

Kingston

Kingston University, Penrhyn Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2EE

Thursday 16 February 2017

Bracknell

Carnation Hall, 29 Chavey Down Road, Winkfield Row, Bracknell RG42 7PU

Friday 17 February 2017

Wimbledon

Everyday Church, 30 Queens Road, Wimbledon, London SW19 8LR

Saturday 18 February 2017

Ealing

Ealing Town Hall, New Broadway, Ealing, London W5 2BY

Monday 20 February 2017

Staines-upon-Thames

The Hythe Centre, Thorpe Road, Staines TW18 3HD

Thursday 23 February 2017

Twickenham

York House, Richmond Road Twickenham TW1 3AA

Friday 24 February 2017

Putney

Putney Leisure Centre, Dryburgh Road, London SW15 1BL

Monday 27 February 2017

Hounslow

Hounslow Civic Centre, Civic Centre, Lampton Road, Hounslow, TW3 4DN

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Stanwell Moor

Stanwell Moor Village Hall, Stanwell Moor, Staines TW19 6AQ

Wednesday 1 March 2017

Kensington

Kensington Town Hall, Hornton Street, Kensington, London W8 7NX

Friday 3 March 2017

Windsor

Windsor Youth and Community Centre, 65 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HD

Saturday 4 March 2017

West Drayton

Yiewsley and West Drayton Community Centre, Harmondsworth Road, West Drayton UB7 9JL

Monday 6 March 2017

Hammersmith

Assembly Hall, King Street, Hammersmith, London W6 9JU

Tuesday 7 March 2017

Maidenhead

Sportsable, Braywick Road, Maidenhead SL6 1BN

Friday 10 March 2017

Richmond

RACC, Parkshot, London TW9 2RE

Saturday 11 March 2017

Gerrards Cross

Colston Hall, 8 East Common, Gerrards Cross SL9 7AD

Monday 13 March 2017

Slough

The Curve, William Street, Slough SL1 1XY

Wednesday 15 March 2017

Isleworth

Isleworth Public Hall, South Street, Isleworth TW7 7BG

 

 

Posted by | View Post | View Group
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rate this Article
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel - .
How does this post make you feel?
  • Excited
  • Fascinated
  • Amused
  • Bored
  • Sad
  • Angry